by James Talluto

The completion of the 2016-2017 ended Sunday April 16 at approximately 4:30pm with the crowning of the Thorne Cup Champion, the Wichita Jr. Thunder.  The Championship game ended a extremely competitive game between the Wichita Jr. Thunder and the Idaho Jr. Steelheads.  The score ended at 4-3 in favor of the Jr. Thunder with numerous attempts to tie it up in the last 5 minutes of the game by the Jr. Steelheads. 

The game witnessed by a large crowd of Ogden ice hockey fans, and the traveling fans from both teams.  The play was fierce, fast, and hard hitting.  With a 5 min. power play during the 3rd period for the Jr. Thunder, and the score at the time 3-1 in favor of the Jr. Thunder, the Jr. Steelheads were able to keep the score from changing, then led a charge to the buzzer scoring twice while the Jr. Thunder scored their 4th goal ending the game at 4-3. 

Peter Cicmanec scored a hat trick during the game leading his team in scoring.  Both goalies Erik Spath (Jr. Thunder) and Sergei Pysarenko (Jr. Steelheads) were exceptional in a extremely fast moving game.  The Jr. Steelheads out shot the opponent 38-29, but came up short with pucks in the back of the net.

The WSHL congratulates the Wichita Jr. Thunder on their first ever participation in the Championship and skating away with the Thorne Cup. 

The Thorne Cup All Star Team Members nominated by the college recruiters, members of the WSHL Executive Committee and game officials are as follows:


Joakim Blomgren - Valencia Flyers

Eric Spath - Wichita Jr. Thunder


Carter Dahl - Colorado Eagles

Krill Markivich - Long Beach Bombers

Matus Spodniak - Ogden Mustangs

John DeRoche - Idaho Jr. Steelheads

Jack McClelland - Wichita Jr. Thunder

Oskar Gulfstrom - Wichita Jr. Thunder

Lance Herning  -Idaho Jr. Steelheads


Austin Dittenhafer - Ogden Mustangs

Dick Frankich - Ogden Mustangs

Zachary Balodis - Wichita Jr. Thunder

Simon Sefcik - Wichita Jr. Thunder

Kyle Hoffman - Idaho Jr. Steelheads

Most Valuable Player:

Peter Cicmanec

Congratulations to the All Star Team Members and the WSHL Thorne Cup Champions - Wichita Jr. Thunder.