El Paso Rhinos Season Preview

by Eric Rogers

The El Paso Rhinos found themselves back on top of the Midwest Division standings last season, before ultimately falling to the eventual Thorne Cup champion Wichita Jr. Thunder in the Division Finals. This season, head coach Cory Herman looks to continue that success in a loaded division that includes the Oklahoma City Blazers and Springfield Express.

With a high-powered offense last season, the Rhinos have multiple players eligible to return this season, including leading scorer Chaseton Sare and goaltender Tymen Edelkoort. Of the top-10 scorers from last season’s team, only five players age out, including Simon Hobbis and Drake Cartwright, who move onto ACHA Division I competition.

As the Rhinos also lose their second and fourth-leading scorers in Alex Johansen and Evan Camba as they age out, Coach Herman looks to reload the team for the coming season. On the early roster for the Rhinos, defensemen Jimmy Beirne (EHL) and Scott Burvill (PJCHL), forward Austin Boyle (SIJHL), and goaltender Daniel Yockey (High School). Returning as well, forward Ivan Vilcauskas. Vilcauskas joined the Rhinos midway through the season and leading the team in penalty minutes with 160.


Players moving on:
Artur Laukaitis (NAHL)
Simon Hobbis (ACHA Div. I)
Drake Cartwright (ACHA Div. 1)


Story by Eric Rodgers, WSHL Midwest Division correspondent. You can find Eric on Twitter, @ericrsports.


Photo courtesy of Marc Mauno